Today’s Daily Prompt asks: When was the last time you were completely stumped by a question, a request, or a situation you found yourself in? How did you handle it?

I can’t remember the last time I was completely stumped by a question. This isn’t because it didn’t happen recently nor that it only happened a long time ago. Nope, I’m pretty sure it happens regularly enough.

The key for me is that I’ve learned to say things like:

  • “I don’t know.”
  • “Good question. Let me get back with you on that.”
  • “Uh. No idea. Do you know?”

Of course, which one of these responses I use is tailored to the dialogue. But basically, I’m confident in what I know. There are some things I know more about than others, and I definitely don’t know everything about everything. So, I’m not going to pretend that I do. If I did, then I’d be lying, and I don’t want to do that.

Having this attitude is liberating. It’s liberating for me because I don’t have to pretend to be something that I am not. It’s liberating for the person with whom I am having a conversation because the person feels released from the expectation that he/she needs to know everything. We can then get to the business of either figuring it out or moving on.

