I recently finished a book that I won as a door prize. Actually, I chose this book amongst the options when my name was called.  The book is “Repurpose Your Career: A Practical Guide for Baby Boomers” by Marc Miller with Susan Lahey. I have heard Marc Miller speak on several occasions and have spoken to him once. I chose the book because I found his speeches helpful and was interested to see what additional wisdom he shared in his book.

Specifically, I like his suggestions on networking strategically, investigating a job and company that interests you, and handling some typical portions of an interview. The suggestions are simple but require you to be intentional about applying them to your various circumstances. It’s not like you do it once and you’re done.

Also, several chapters walk you through suggestions to evaluate past roles/jobs to better understand the type of work and environment for which you are best suited. One of these suggestions is an assessment test that is a part of Marc’s professional services. Since I had previous experience independently with these topics, I didn’t spend as much time on these chapters.

Overall, it compiles a lot of helpful information about getting on track with your career into one place. So, if you are not sure how to move forward in in your career, this book gives you a means to get started.

 

