Today’s Daily Prompt: Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

Tough Question! If I had enough time to reread a book off my shelf, I’m not sure I know where I’d start! Ok, well generally, I know where I’d start. I’d start with any one of the titles I read back in high school. I’d have to chose between Steinbeck and Lee and Bradbury and Orwell and Huxley and Knowles. Oh, my! Maybe I’d start with Grapes of Wrath or East of Eden. No, maybe To Kill a Mockingbird. No, maybe Fahrenheit 451. No, wait. Argh!!!! It is so hard to chose.

I enjoyed all of these titles when I was in high school. But now that I’m older and wiser and have a better sense of the world, I’m thinking these books would be far more enjoyable and interesting than before.

Wait! I got it. It’d be Orwell’s 1984. The book (published in 1949) was written looking thirty-five years into the future. It’d be interesting to read it while looking thirty years back.

Orwell - 1984

 

