Today’s Daily Prompt: What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment, and need someone’s else’s confirmation?

As I read this prompt, my mind wanders towards thoughts of “weaknesses.” That really isn’t right, though. No one person is good at everything. No one person knows everything. No one person has every right answer. So then, of course, it makes sense that there are “some (or one)” things in which we ask for someone else’s confirmation.

I have “some,” but I’ll speak about one.

I find writing challenging. I speak without formality, but as soon as I try putting thoughts on paper (whether that is pen to paper or words on a computer screen), I get totally formal! Aack! I start using words like “hence” and “with which” and other jibber-jabber like that. (That is what my sister calls it…” jibber-jabber.”) I even get all formal writing a note to a friend! And yes, I then spend time editing it all out.

Aside from the English class or two back in my freshman year of college, I’ve spent a disproportionate amount of time writing technical documents throughout my career. Maybe that is where I have picked up the formality?!

Over the past years, I’ve received a lot of help from my sister, who loves to write and does it well. She has beaten it into me to write simpler – both in structure and vocabulary. She has helped me recognize that the vocabulary I use can be too industry specific for my audience. Finally, she has painstakingly reminded me to use only the necessary words to effectively communicate a sentence and to take extra ones out.

I’ve practiced a lot; I’ve gotten much better. I have even come to like what I write. Even with all this, I still have her look over something if it is really important, but I feel she makes fewer corrections. Whew.

