Today’s Daily Prompt asks:

It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. Tell us what happens next.

I greet the proprietor, in return. We exchange some pleasantries and discuss the weather. I don’t make any excuses about why I stepped inside his store but rather admit that I do not tend to visit antique stores regularly. I wish I did. I loved “The Antique Roadshow” on PBS, but I never developed the habit of hunting down such treasures.

I then pepper the proprietor with questions:

  1. What’s his favorite item in the store? What is the history behind it? How did he come to acquire it? What perks his interest about it?
  2. What is his own most favored treasure? Why?
  3. How did he get into this business?

I want to learn from the ancient proprietor. No doubt he’d have something to teach because wisdom usually comes with age. As for myself, I have learned two things over the years that would shock some (maybe many) under 30: you don’t know everything, and you never will. So be good to yourself and kind to others by appreciating their knowledge and experiences and open up yourself to learning from them.

After what I can image to be a pleasant discussion, I am inclined to inquire about items that may interest my family members who can appreciate antiques. Depending on the store owner’s genuineness, passion, and interest in getting me interested, I probably end up with a purchase before getting out of the store!

